Apathy – a brand’s silent, but deadly enemy

If you manage a brand, you’ll know that the people you should fear the most are not those who love you or those who hate you, but those that are apathetic to you.

If people hate you, you can try to change their mind.  If people love you, you can make them feel valued.

But it’s the ones who don’t tell you how they feel one way or another, because then you don’t know who they are. And they probably don’t know who you are nor do they don’t care.

Think Marmite.

Think Rebecca Black.

Think Manchester United.

Some people love them.  Some people hate them.  But everyone knows who they are and very few of them are indifferent.

Contrast that to Utilities companies – the ones who you only hear from when they want you to pay for something or buy something else. I don’t know about you but I’m fairly indifferent to my mobile network, water, electricity and gas suppliers.  I don’t really care what they do as long as I can turn the light on, heat the house and have a shower.

The problem for my current suppliers is that they have no brand equity with me.  Their understanding of me and communications towards me are purely transactional, but as soon as I see the logo on the envelope, it goes in the bin. The expectations they’ve set in my head is that it is either a bill or something they want to sell me that I don’t need.

This means that at any point I can go elsewhere without a second thought or regret.

So make your brand stand for something – then watch apathy dissipate. 

Note:  If you want to see other people’s thoughts, try this post and this one.

2 thoughts on “Apathy – a brand’s silent, but deadly enemy

  1. Good post, great examples.
    Marmite is a perfect example of “leaning into polarizing”… not trying to please everyone, but rather owning up to what makes you special… and sometimes hated.
    Love this and agree 100%
    Tom

    • Hi Tom, thanks for reading, appreciate it… i think as long as you are real with yourself as a brand about what you stand for and who you are going after then you’ll be ok… when you try to please too many people, that’s when it all goes wrong.

Leave a Reply

