Damn, wish I’d done that

Hindsight is a wonderful thing, but it can also be a kicker.

I’ve just seen a campaign that would’ve been perfect for a product launch I managed back in 2008.

It was actually the launch of a category more than just a product, which brings with it some very specific challenges.  For example, as you are the first to stick your neck out you’re the one that has to fight the battle for the legitimacy of the category.

But that’s by the by.

I had to launch the Reader product in the UK (the eReading solution before Kindle came along). We researched the market and the overwhelming response was that this shouldn’t be seen as a replacement for books, but rather an extension of someone’s library.

Looking back we were then drawn into communicating the product USP over books (more than 100 books in something small than a paperback) but what it didn’t do was actually overcome the perceived that was the physicality of the book. At the end of the day people don’t have a relationship with physical books, they have a relationship with the stories within it despite them saying otherwise.

Mint Vinetu has portrayed this truth beautifully and I think our advertising and sales could’ve been so much better had we gone with something along these lines.

That’s not to say I’m not extremely proud of what I did because it was one of the best, most comprehensive projects I’ve ever developed and implemented but I guess you always look for improvements and I’m certain I’m not the first person to think ‘Damn, I wish I’d done that.’

2 thoughts on “Damn, wish I’d done that

  1. Yep, there are many things that I say that with. Like the lightbulb or the Telephone, although that is more along the lines of “Damn I wish I could invent a time machine, and then go back in time and invent the telephone.”

    The Green Guerilla

Leave a Reply

